Wine Investment Advise

A fun, easy going place to talk about any wine and food related topic or issue. This is a real names board. You will need to register with your real first and last name before being able to post.
winelover18
New Member 50 Pts

Wine Investment Advise

Post by winelover18 » Fri Mar 09, 2018 8:56 am

Hi,

I'm new to fine wine investment.

I'm just wondering what people think of either investing in a case (6 or 12 in 750ml bottles) or it's better to invest in large formats bottles (3L or 6L)?

All comments are appreciated!

Jeff Leve
Needs a Life 99 Pts

Re: Wine Investment Advise

Post by Jeff Leve » Sat Mar 10, 2018 8:08 am

The wine and the vintage you buy is more important than the format size. Of course, the price you pay as well, is a major factor. If you have other questions, let me know.

You might also want to read this article - https://www.thewinecellarinsider.com/wi ... ture-wine/

Dave Poppons

Post by Dave Poppons » Sun Mar 11, 2018 12:43 pm

Very interesting question. I would call winebid and get some information from them. I haven’t looked on winebid recently but I used to, and I would see the same oversized bottles on the site, month after month.

I wouldn't sell my own wine but that’s just me. So if I purchased an oversized bottle for investment, my plan B would be to drink it myself or open it at a party. So I think a magnum would be okay but once you get into larger bottles, it’s going to become harder to carry out that plan B. How many people can you pull together to finish a double magnum of Angelus? Or an imperial of Lafite? Because the lesser wines might not go up that much and might not be bankable cause they won’t last that long.